UEFA Champions League


The 2019/20 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony begins at 18:00 CEST on Thursday 29 August. It takes place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco and will be streamed live on UEFA.com.

Who is involved in the draw?

ESP: Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, Valencia
ENG: Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur
ITA: Juventus, Napoli, Internazionale Milano, Atalanta
GER: Bayern München, Borussia Dortmund, Bayer Leverkusen, RB Leipzig
FRA: Paris, Lyon, LOSC Lille
RUS: Zenit, Lokomotiv Moskva
POR: Benfica 
UKR: Shakhtar Donetsk
BEL: Club Brugge, Genk 
TUR: Galatasaray
AUT: Salzburg
GRE : Olympiacos 
CZE: Slavia Praha
NED: Ajax
CRO : GNK Dinamo 
SRB : Crvena zvezda

How does the draw work?

The 26 teams given direct entry to the group stage under the new competition system are joined by the six winners of the play-off ties.
The teams are split into four seeding pots. Pot 1 consists of the holders, the UEFA Europa League winners and the champions of the six highest-ranked nations. Pots 2 to 4 are determined by the club coefficient rankings.
No team can play a club from their own association and, based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, clubs from Russia and Ukraine must not be drawn in the same group.

In the case of associations with two or more representatives, clubs will be paired in order to split their matches between Tuesday and Wednesday. If a paired club is drawn, for example, in Groups A, B, C or D, the other paired club – once drawn – will automatically be assigned to one of Groups E, F, G or H.

The draw also establishes the groups for the UEFA Champions League path of the UEFA Youth League.

(Photo Getty Images)